Life as a Foreigner

What if you were plopped into a foreign country with no warning or understanding of what life was really going to be like. When it comes to deciding whether or not someone is going to completely alter their life by living in a new culture, it usually comes down to family. It particularly comes down to the little ones.

Imagine being three years old in a foreign country. You would probably be inclined to adapt to their culture. Not intentionally, but solely because you would be so innocent and unfamiliar with the concept of different cultures having their own unique ways of living. You would be too young to know your own culture’s traditions, so this new country would become your “traditional” one. Until you begin to filled with confusion with what your parents begin to inflict upon you. And then you’ll have to choose, who do you want to be?

At first, living life as a foreigner will be undeniably challenging. You will get lost, you won’t be able to understand anyone or anything, you will be frustrated, and especially, you will be taken advantage of. Foreigners are like candy for people to rob, trick, and deceive. At first, the homebodies have an upper hand. However, once you start to assimilate to a country you have the advantage. Not only can you understand and fit into their culture, but you can also fit in with people from yours.

It is interesting because typically foreigners become bilingual because they want to adapt. While countries, at least in terms of the United States, emphasize learning new languages and cultures as a part of their educational curriculum. Being able to understand and be a part of more than one culture is a huge advantage because it means you are unique and diverse. Uniqueness and diversity is exactly what society is looking for, because it means you are different. The more unique you are the better. Nowadays the privileged white-man is not so prevalent. Compete with that by being a cultured, sophisticated, well-rounded, diverse asset. I can only speak for myself, but ten times out of ten, I would rather be enriched by a cultured, well-rounded individual than a typical, textbook one. Use your background to your advantage. Don’t hide it and be yourself.

One thought on “Life as a Foreigner”

  1. Being a foreigner myself, I totally understand your points in this post. Migrating to the States for educational purposes, I carry within me the Greek I have always been; the Greek I will always be. Having had visited the States before settling in for good, I thought it wouldn’t be too difficult for me to mingle in and adapt to the new cultural reality. However, things weren’t that simple. I started feeling more Greek than ever, and started to appreciate my cultural background, my language, and the values that were transmitted to me as part of my culture. As you mentioned, I started using my background to my advantage, I never thought of hiding myself , and I’ve always been myself. What I found interesting, though, is that here on campus, I bonded faster with other international students with whom I had more in common.

    Like

Leave a Reply

