Self-Injury and Society

Self-injury, self harm, cutting, burning. All of these terms have been prominent in our society for as long as I can remember. Ever since I was a little kid, I saw commercials promoting anti-depressant drugs and I remember watching in fear, wondering how someone could be so unhappy. As I grew older I became more and more aware of the situations that bring about depression and other mental illnesses. We were taught about the different mental illnesses all through middle school and the teachers emphasized them in high school. It’s almost as if the teachers knew the prevalence. Although these emotions have always been around me, I never thought they happened to so many people. I had no idea how many people struggle with depression and anxiety. People may have been depressed throughout all of history, but I feel as if self harm is becoming more and more prominent in today’s society.

Explaining-Depression.jpg

So why? Why has self-injury and self harm become a more household term? I believe that our society today puts extreme amounts of pressure on the children of this generation. Statistics show that today 3%-38% of adolescence have inflicted self-injury or self harm on themselves. Because it is usually done in private, the statistics could vary and possibly be a higher percentage. There is also a shift and increase in the amount of college student cut themselves. By college, the pressure to succeed is more forceful due to the fact that the “real world” is so close. The onset of self harm is said to be between the ages of 12-15. These are around the ages of those in middle school, the largest adjustment and a big time for bullies and other insecurity. By 15 teenagers are in high school and learning more about themselves. A young mind is very easily damaged by words and bad thoughts.

 

b5873317bf9843850cf41dcbe53787e8.jpg

 

Society today puts and excessive amount of pressure on our children today. Yes, doing well in school is important, but not to the point that we push our kids to harm themselves for not reaching their parent’s expectations. I believe that we need to take a step back and let children learn and not be pushed to perfection so much.

 

Self-Injury: Statistics, Causes, Signs & Symptoms

One thought on “Self-Injury and Society”

  1. First of all, I’d like to thank you for writing about such a sensitive topic. I feel like most people would rather just push it under the rug instead of talking about it. I think a big part of the problem is that people do not understand it. Self-harm has always been a very important issue for me, because some of my close friends have been affected by it. I agree that it is becoming more common, and this is a huge problem. Society puts an immense amount of pressure on young people to succeed these days. However, I think part of the problem is also how self-harm and mental illnesses have recently become romanticized. For some reason, some people think its “sweet” when someone is “broken” and they want to “fix” them. Some kids think its “cool” to cut themselves, because others have done it and posted pictures of it on the internet. It is not sweet and it is not cool. I am NOT saying that everyone that self-harms is trying to be cute or cool. Trust me, I know that the majority of them are actually struggling. (I apologize for the super long comment, I sort of got carried away.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

