LOL, An Ongoing Debate.

Language continuously changes over time. But is it heading in the right direction? There has been an ongoing debate if texting is killing the English language. It will always depend on the person. If you are a person that can do both use informal and formal writing then one cannot blame the person for having those abilities.

funny-hahah-lol-text-Favim.com-342907
Summary of the usage of the acronym “LOL”.

Texting can sometimes kill the way we want to express one’s feelings in script, however it is necessarily killing the English language? I have found myself sometimes shortening my words while writing but if I am writing a paper or email I become conscious whom I am addressing. Therefore, it all depends if the person can shift from text messaging language to the formal English language. For instances, today we use the acronym “LOL” (Laughing Out Loud), which is no longer used to state something is funny better yet used as a place holder. In other words, the way we use lol today is  meaningless. Others use the abbreviation as a way to be sarcastic or end a conversation. I am not saying that these texting key words are killing our language because these abbreviations are just used as fast responds or substitutes. Now picture this, you are a doctor and every time you have to tell the patient or the nurse that the patient needs an “MRI” you had to say, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, it just makes it sound so much worst then what it really is and so much longer. One, the patient would look at you in a puzzled way and the conversation will have to be even longer than it had to be or worse yet may confuse the patient even more! Abbreviating is not so bad after all but again one has there own opinion on the topic.

The debate on this subject has became larger and larger in the past decade. Less than half of the critics have said that texting has degraded the English language. For instances,

Yes it is

Well duh of course it is! It dumbs down spelling and grammar, reduces the need for in depth conversations and it distracts us from being fully present… So in my opinion it does. You can think what you want. Personally sometimes I will short words, like ‘gonna’ or ‘convo’. But I neva rite lyk dis cuz it is dizguztin.

Yes, I believe texting is killing language.

I believe texting is killing language because texting shortens words and is greatly modifying the language. As an English instructor, I have found that the texting language is making its way into academic papers because it has become so second nature for many students. Grammar rules are forgotten with compulsive texters. I believe excessive testing will lead to poor communications skills.

These two person in particular believe that the texting has made the mankind lack spelling and grammar. But how can they genuinely critic when they are having issues with grammar and spelling themselves? As an English instructor I do not think it was okay for her or him to had messed up on such an easy word such as, “testing”. On the other hand, sixty-one percent of the pool group that voted on the subject said “no” that texting is not changing the English language. The next two person are frank about her or his’ opinion.

Texting is not killing language.

You still have to know how to structure a sentence or words so language is important. No, texting isn’t killing language, but it IS making people lazy. Rather than talking to another person, we will text them. We carry on full conversations over a text and not talking on the phone. Pure lazy!

Open your mind.

Quite honestly, the only people who believe that texting is killing language don’t know much about language, are unnecessarily judgmental, or both. Nonstandard dialects are becoming recognized as valid forms of communication. Why shouldn’t they be? What harm do they cause? In addition, a person using texting language is not necessarily a sign that they can’t write in proper English when the situation calls for it. I cn write liek dis wen i snd a txt, but I also know how to follow the conventions of spelling and grammar. Why berate those who don’t follow all of the rules in informal communication?

To be sincere our generation is getting quite lazy. I am aware that the newest generations rather text than exactly talk face to face or even on the phone. But let’s be mindful that texting is just so much faster than going all the way to where that people or group may be. It is also easier to communicate the message around when everyone is working or in school. I admit that I dislike talking on the phone myself. The feeling that I have to be attentive to the other person on the line takes away from exactly getting my work done.

 

Resource:

http://www.debate.org/opinions/is-texting-killing-language

http://acronyms.thefreedictionary.com/MRI

 

2 thoughts on “LOL, An Ongoing Debate.”

  1. I believe that our language has and will continue to change over time and adapt to what is happening in our world. I don’t necessarily think that how our language is changing is destroying the language, it is just different and people do not like normally like change. I like the point you made about how acronyms are actually very helpful in some cases such as MRI and other medical terms. When it comes to text language i do not have a problem with using acronyms such as LOL, OMG or IDK. What I do not like is how text language is pushing its way into our normal conversations. I even find myself subconsciously including these text acronyms into my everyday speech with my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I too beilieve that our language is constantly adapting. The texting culture is becoming more and more prominent in everyday language. I always find myself using “txting” language in my formal writing and even my speech. For me, its a problem, but not one that I ever see getting too out of hand. I think that moving forward finding the right balance of the usage of texting language is key.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

