Social media has become our lifeline

Last year one of my very good friends decided to give up social media. She deleted her Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat accounts. I asked her why she decided to do this and stated how it seemed like such a crazy decision to make especially for someone who was about to go off to college. After all, how would she stay in touch with all of her friends from home? She told me that she had gotten so used to constantly staring at her phone, refreshing her Instagram feed every couple of minutes waiting for a new post that it made her realize how dependent she, and our entire generation really, was on social media.

Two weeks after the beginning of the fall semester, my friend called me to catch up. She asked me questions like who my new group of friends were, what they were like, and what I’ve been doing at college I replied by saying “Haven’t you seen any of my Instagram posts? Or my Snapchat stories?” She stayed silent and finally laughed, then I realized that she still wasn’t back on social media. The fact that she really did give it up still surprised me. I was so sure that she would eventually get bored or go crazy but she didn’t. In fact, she seemed happier. She told me that she had started calling all of her close friends and had actually had conversations with them instead of finding out about their lives through pictures or tweets. She said she felt much more connected than she ever did before.

After our two hour conversation, I came to the realization that in this day and age, social media has become such a huge part of our lives. At least it has for me. I can never get through the day without checking my Instagram or Snapchat. I don’t even know why I check social media so many times throughout the day. Just like my friend used to, I constantly refresh and wait for new pictures to appear. It feels like I’m always waiting for someone to post something new that it has become like a routine to me. I don’t think I would ever be able to do what my friend did, and in some ways that scares me because it makes me realize just how much value I have placed on social media.

3 thoughts on “Social media has become our lifeline”

  1. I definitely agree with your response to Social Media because as we all notice in ourselves at some point that we are obsessed with seeing what our friends and others are doing constantly. As humans we like to feel in the loop with other’s lives and like we’re not alone therefore Social media has brought us a way to stay connected but to also become obsessed with “Facebook stalking” and learning about the private lives others live. Without social media in our lives it seems like we’d be lost without the specific connection social media creates between ourselves and others.

    Like

  2. I agree with your view on the teen addiction to social media and I too have tried to give up certain social media platforms. I do have Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, and Vine but I never use any of them so I don’t even know why I have accounts in those platforms. As for Facebook, I only scroll through it when I’m bored or avoiding homework. Now that I think about it, I should just get rid of my Facebook and read a book when I’m bored and actually do homework when I sit down to do it. I know I’m not as addicted to social media as others, but I think we could all reduce the amount we use social media a bit.

    Like

  3. I agree with your points on social media addiction in teens and young adults. A couple of years ago I did a one week challenge with no social media. The challenge was definitely difficult, but I found that I was much more productive and payed more attention to my friends while they were talking. Sometimes it amazes me that people have made a career out of social media even in the short time that it has existed. Marketers now aim their ads at the digital world instead of magazines and commercials. I also think that nothing beats a face to face conversation with someone. Last summer I had a four or five hour conversation with one of my friends from middle school. We had stayed in contact since middle school through texting and social media, but hadn’t seen each other since then. Social media has helped me stay in contact with my high school friends and I’m grateful for that. Sometimes people use social media too much and it interferes in their real life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

