Mental Illness Becomes a Global Issue

I didn’t fully understand what it meant to have anxiety until I came to college and met one of my best friends. For me, anxiety meant being nervous in situations I felt comfortable in. I couldn’t grasp my head around what it felt like, so like most people who don’t understand something I deemed it impossible. Man was I wrong. All I needed to convince me was watching my friend have an anxiety attack. There was a mysterious unsurpassed force that took over my friend as she lost control.

There are many social stigmas towards people with anxiety. As a culture, we view common mental disorders as insignificant health problems that we do not need to invest resources in as far as developing treatment protocols and medicine. However, very recently, aid groups such as The World Health Organization and World Bank have aimed to put mental health on the world agenda. Analysis of new data suggests that “30% of total disability costs are due to mental illness” making the address of this topic not only a health related one but economic as well. mental illness graphic

These aid groups focus on a global scale however as this topic becomes more prevalent through these upcoming years, it is important that we address the treatment of these people as a whole. As a society we need to understand that these mental illnesses cannot be solved with “a suck it up” mentality but that with the investment of proper resources, treatment, and education on social stigmas we can reduce its effects.

6 thoughts on “Mental Illness Becomes a Global Issue”

  1. Love this Kirs. All very true statements. Glad I helped you understand that anxiety is very real for a lot of people.

    Like

  2. Mental illness, to many people, are almost “taboo”. Also for many, it is not considered an “illness”. As you said, these mental illnesses can not be solved with a “suck it up” attitude. It was not until 3 years ago that my parents finally acknowledged the fact that I had anxiety and depression, even though I was diagnosed by my psychologist (and even my allergy doctor agreed) prior to that. It took a panic attack that ended with me taking an ambulance to the hospital for it to be truly recognized. Both of my parents work in the medical field, my mom in the psychiatric division. Even my parents, who truly understand the illnesses, still did not want to necessarily believe that their son was troubled by them. The stigmas still existed to them, even though they were fully aware and understood what the illnesses are. Today, they are much more supportive, and perceptive of it. Through education and investment in resources, as you said, the proper help and breaking down of stigmas will be provided, in order to combat the illnesses that plague a large portion of the U.S. population, let alone the world.

    Like

  3. I think this is a great article because this problem gets over looked but yet so many Americans suffer from it. Anxiety disorders are the most common form of mental illness in the U.S. It effects 40 million Americans ages 18 and older. This type of disease is highly treatable but yet only one third of those who suffer from it receive treatment. I believe this needs to change because anxiety can create problems in one’s life. I agree with your statement that this isn’t only a health but an economic issue because anxiety disorders cost the U.S. more than $42 billion a year which is almost equivalent to one third of the U.S.’s total health bill. Great article with a strong message.

    Like

  4. This is far my favorite post by far. It’s so important that we talk about mental health instead of just saying isn’t something people make up or make excuses for it. The mentality of a majority of individuals is that people make this up and do it for attention. I believe that as a society we need to fix this and learn that people don’t choose to have anxiety or any of this other illness.

    Like

  5. This is all very true. Far too often today many people will not take mental health issues as a serious concern and treat it as just a bad personality trait instead that can be easily fixed, which is incorrect. Many people themselves also often will neglect their own mental health and avoid seeking treatment. If they are being told by others with a “suck it up” mentality then it is more likely for the person to not make an effort for treatment. It is something that needs to gain more attention as a serious issue from the view of other people in society.

    Like

  6. I agree with what you say here. Due to having person experience with people with mental illnesses, I completely understand what you’re talking about when you say that these kind of issues can’t just be fixed by “toughening up”. The amount of ignorance surrounding mental illness is a really big problem, not only on a national scale but also globally. I think that depending on your understanding of a certain mental illness (like depression, for example) people may have varying ideas of the sick role surrounding it. People with little to no knowledge of the illness may feel as though even though you’re depressed, that doesn’t mean that you’re “allowed” to stay home and not leave your bed, even though depression causes you to literally not have to will to move sometimes. I do think that we are moving in the right direction with the general population being more and more aware of mental illness but we still have a long way to go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

